Gallery

A Day In A Diet; Including More Fat = Weight Loss? Yes!

For the past 6 weeks I have been stuck in a range of right around 150 lbs. I was starting to get impatient with myself about it and for the first time since I began this journey, I decided to ‘watch’ my intake of fat in my diet. Up to now I haven’t counted calories, fat intake, or any particular amounts of this food vs. that food. I do keep a very loose diary of what I eat but it’s just for the purpose of keeping me focused rather than an analysis of the nutrients I consume. I do pay attention to the amount of cooked food vs raw food that I consume as I believe that a mostly raw food vegan diet is the healthiest dietary lifestyle for most people and without a doubt it holds true for me. Anyhow…. I digress.

Evaluating my diet, I know that I typically consume quite a lot of fat and oil. I regularly eat avocados, coconuts (both the meat and the water), liberal amounts of fresh pressed olive oil and coconut oil. In addition, I drink nut milk almost daily and a vast majority of my meals contain nuts of some kind. About once a week I consume some sort of cooked beans, rice, or other grain.

With the finish line in sight, I decided to get a bit more focused and actually reduce the amount of fat in my diet hoping that between that and the new exercise routine, I would drop a couple of pounds a week. Imagine my confusion and surprise when the exact opposite happened! Instead of losing weight, I gain 4 pounds in the first week of this experiment. THAT WAS COMPLETELY DEFLATING! Okay… I’m a fast learner. Skip that and go back to including the fat again. Results… I’ve lost 5 pounds in 5 days! I won’t pretend to understand how or why it works this way. I know it’s contrary to popular science and opinion but the results don’t lie. Our bodies are amazingly complex. It takes a while to figure out what’s best for us and I feel the need to remind everyone that it’s a process… a journey of self-discovery. Certainly involve your doctor; but also pay attention to what your body is telling you. None of us fit perfectly into the paradigm of what is popularly considered a healthy diet. You have to be willing to separate truth from fiction and then find out what’s best for you.

So, while I may be impatient to lose the last bit of weight, I know how to slow down and just let my body keep telling me what to do. I’ll get there. When I do it’s time for some fun shopping!

Cheers…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

