Gallery

A Not So typical Day (or month… or two).

So it’s been a while since my last post; 3 months but who’s counting? I felt the need to give a very brief, surface overview of what I’ve been up to personally, and in my dietary life. Beginning with Thanksgiving, our family went south to see my daughter for the holiday. It was a wonderful visit filled with a mixture of traditional and raw cuisine, along with family firsts and much needed bonding time. I had the pleasure of introducing my granddaughters to green smoothies and almond milk. My father (a true carnivore) was a bit taken back by the idea of “milking almonds” and has ribbed me about it ever since. After this we spent a week and a half back at home before leaving again. This time my husband and I (much to HIS surprise) were destined for the western Caribbean aboard our first cruise. I had planned this trip as a surprise to him for about six months and somehow I managed to pull it off just splendidly! He was utterly shocked. We had a great time. My only disappointment was regarding the lack of variety of fresh fruits and veggies. There was of course food available pretty much all the time. Service was top notch and the presentation was incomparable. For someone like myself, I found my menu choices somewhat limited. I most definitely did not maintain a high ratio of raw food on that journey. When we got home we tackled my son’s wedding… and then Christmas. We had a few surprises, both good and bad. I lost a very dear friend who I will miss always…. But I gained a very dear family member who I have missed for nearly 24 years. In January I took two trips to Texas and I fell completely off the wagon regarding my diet. On my second trip to Texas I went three days without any veggies! I reached a point of feeling completely sick… I had to get some veggies. I can’t tell you how good it is to be back home. I’ve been so desperate for healthy food that I am now on a 100% raw vegan diet and it feels great! I know I won’t stay 100% raw forever but for now I’m planning to try it till Easter and see how it works for me. My family doesn’t eat this way and while they support me, they also make fun of me (in love, of course).  I am about half way to my weight loss goal. As of this morning I have lost a total of 51 pounds with 49 pounds still to go. I’ve been working on new recipes and expanding my culinary skills. I find myself wanting to simplify more and more in my life. I’m more aware of my environment and how my actions affect it. There is a lot of transition in my life now and it’s both unsettling and exciting. Many blessings to you all as we travel this road called life.

Cheers,

Michelle

2 responses to “A Not So typical Day (or month… or two).

  1. Michelle, that is the coolest surprise in the world you gave your husband. It gives me happy chills!

    I’m so glad to read this post today in particular. I was missing your blog a lot. I had worked up my freggies to at least 7 servings a day for quite a while, usually 8, even 12/+ for days at a time. Mind you, I really eat too much fruit relative to my veggies. But I still feel so much better that way. Since the middle of last week, I’ve hardly eaten fruits and veggies, way more fat than usual, white artisan bread instead of sticking to my sprouted grain bread. In the last 2 days, I’ve had way too much sugar! I’ve felt so off kilter. Thanks for the sharing, for reminding me I’m not the only one who can have a hard time and get back in gear.

    I feel inspired, thank you!
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

